My Friday Post: The Friday 56 Weekly Meme: The Song of Achilles

 

Friday 56

I came across The Friday 56 Meme via Caffeine and Books:

https://caffeineandbooks42.wordpress.com/

So I thought I’d do something different and have a go at The Friday 56 Meme for my Friday post this week.  I chose The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller  as it is definitely a book that I intend to read soon.

WIN_20150421_150911

It is a weekly meme hosted by Freda’s Voice, click on the link to her blog, and the rules are pretty simple:

  • Grab a book, any book.
  • Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
    (If you have to improvise, that’s OK.)
  • Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it).
  • Post it.
  • Add the url to your post on Freda’s Voice.

And I? I was shy and silent with all but Achilles; I could scarcely speak to the other boys, let alone a girl. As a comrade of the prince, I suppose I would not have had to speak; a gesture or a look would have been enough. But such a thing did not occur to me. The feelings that stirred in me at night seemed strangely distant from those serving girls with their lowered eyes and obedience. I watched a boy fumbling at a girl’s dress, the dull look on her face as she poured his wine. I did not wish for such a thing. “

Now doesn’t that short quote just make you want to read the book? It certainly sets my curiosity into hyper drive!

Here’s the Goodreads synopsis :

A tale of gods, kings, immortal fame, and the human heart, The Song of Achilles is a dazzling literary feat that brilliantly re-imagines Homer’s enduring masterwork, The Iliad. An action-packed adventure, an epic love story, Miller’s debut novel has already earned resounding acclaim from some of contemporary fiction’s brightest lights. Fans of Mary Renault, Bernard Cornwell, Steven Pressfield, and Colleen McCullough’s Masters of Rome series will delight in this unforgettable journey back to ancient Greece in the Age of Heroes.  

Have a Happy Friday and a great weekend.

Happy Reading, Writing, and Creating. Enjoy yourselves, let me know what you’re reading, or intending to read. I’m currently about half way through Lisa Williamson’s debut novel The Art of Being Normal, more to come on that soon!

Advertisements

About Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog, Kyrosmagica. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a debut writer in the process of finishing my first YA fantasy novel, set in Cambridge. I write book reviews on Net Galley and Goodreads. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.
This entry was posted in Bookish Delights, Friday, Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My Friday Post: The Friday 56 Weekly Meme: The Song of Achilles

  1. Seems like the narrator is a sweet, thoughtful boy. Enjoy!
    HERE’S MINE

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Daph says:

    This sounds like a unique read! I might have to give it a peek on Amazon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alicia says:

    That book sounds really interesting! I might add it to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lauren says:

    I’ve heard so many good things about this! It sounds great.

    Check out my 56 (with Book Beginnings).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Freda Mans says:

    Sounds to be beautifully written.
    Thank you for joining in The Friday 56! Hope to see you regularly.
    Happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura Thomas says:

    Sounds like the character was born too soon. Forward thinking and mind of their own.

    My 56 – http://fuonlyknew.com/2015/04/24/the-friday-56-59-cut-me-free-by-j-r-johansson/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Louise says:

    You won me over – this is going on my list. Sounds like a fascinating read. Hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s