Edinburgh Festival: The Kelpies Sculptures

WP_20150822_008

Aren’t these stunning?

These miniature statues are currently a feature of Edinburgh’s West End for the duration of the Edinburgh International Festival. The real Kelpies are one of the largest standing equine sculptures in the world, standing 30 metres high, and located within “the Helix” park, Falkirk, a 350 hectare park situated between Glasgow and Edinburgh, Scotland. The Kelpies are the creation of sculpter Andy Scott. Next time I’m up in Scotland I will most definitely be visiting the “real” Kelpies in Falkirk.

WP_20150822_15_23_11_Pro

Taking photographs of them at different angles, certainly seemed to breathe life into these miniature Kelpies! Also I played about with the exposure, brightness, etc, on a photo editing site: http://www.picmonkey.com/ to get differing effects.

WP_20150822_15_23_32_Pro

 

Links:

http://www.edinburgh.gov.uk/news/article/1876/world-famous_kelpies_come_to_edinburghs_west_end

http://www.thekelpies.co.uk/

 

Hope you enjoyed the Kelpies. I loved them. Have you seen the Kelpies?

kk

Marje @ Kyrosmagica xx

About Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog, Kyrosmagica. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a debut writer in the process of finishing my first YA fantasy novel, set in Cambridge. I write book reviews on Net Galley and Goodreads. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.
This entry was posted in Art Sculptures, Edinburgh Festival, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Edinburgh Festival: The Kelpies Sculptures

  1. They are beautiful …nice article. You have a busy blog and are obviously a good writer … now I am off to see who I write like!!
    Cheers

    Adrienne

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wanderwolf says:

    These are wonderful! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lainey says:

    Wonderful photos! I love them, hoping to get to see them one day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This. Is my first exposure to the Kelpies. They are fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Got there in the end. Stunning pictures – hard to believe these are the miniatures

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Aby says:

    What a treat . Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Camera Lucida: Metal | kyrosmagica

Leave a Reply

