#Monday Blogs: Camera Lucida Photo Challenge: Week 8 Divergent

2015-07-05-0_fotor1

I’m having a shot at taking part in Julia’s Camera Lucida photo challenge this Monday.

Do check out Julia’s blog it is wonderfully dressed in a most brilliant, sumptuous Red!

Here’s the link to My Red Page if you’d like to join in Julia’s Weekly Photography Gallery:

https://myredpage.wordpress.com/2015/08/27/camera-lucida-divergent/

Julia’s chosen theme this week is : Divergent

The definition of divergent is things that move in different directions or that are far apart from each other.

Opposites, dissimilar, different, contradictory, reverse.

 

I decided to focus on shadows as the theme of light and shadow, and in particular good and bad characters, is one I like to consider in some of my writing. The photo below is one of my Country park photos that I took in the woods, I’ve cropped the image to make it seem more scary looking! I’m particularly pleased with this creepy shadow, what do you think?

wp_20150415_019

 

The photo below is a striking shadow on the mottled ground, I’ve manipulated the image to make the shadows appear darker, thicker and more menacing. Creepy huh?

untitled

This is a gentler image of my shadow set against contrasting brightly coloured hexagonal paving stones. What am I up to?  Is it really me? There’s no way of  telling is there? That’s the fascinating thing about shadows they leave so much to the viewer’s imagination.

WP_20141028_006

 

This is another photograph that I took at the country park, I’ve cropped the image to focus on this interesting pattern of lined shadows that caught my eye.

WP_20150427_022

 

Thanks for stopping by, what do you think of shadows? Do they fascinate and intrigue you too?
kk

Marje @ Kyrosmagica xx

About Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog, Kyrosmagica. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a debut writer in the process of finishing my first YA fantasy novel, set in Cambridge. I write book reviews on Net Galley and Goodreads. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to #Monday Blogs: Camera Lucida Photo Challenge: Week 8 Divergent

  1. Nice Shadow captures Marje 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Julia says:

    I love love love your post:)
    Welcome to Camera Lucida…great pics, a very unique interpretation of this week’s theme:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like them all, but am particularly drawn to the last one – but then I’m hooked on patterns at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great photos Marje, even if that first one is also a little creepy. 😨

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You did very well with this challenge, Marje! I love the pictures. You have a great eye. The images are certainly different. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: ‘Camera Lucida’ – The Sign | MyRedPage

  7. I have always enjoyed taking shadow photos. Yours are just the best. Thank you for sharing them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

