Hugh’s Photo Challenge – Week 3 – What Lurks in The Shadows

WP_20151027_018[1]

 

Hugh had me well and truly stumped with this week’s photography challenge. I was on the verge of giving up when I had an idea to focus on an eerie shadow of myself amongst the autumn leaves. Yes, I’m now as creepy as it gets!!

Here’s the link if you’d like to join in: http://hughsviewsandnews.com/2015/10/24/hughs-photo-challenge-week-3-what-lurks-in-the-shadows/

What’s creepy about my shadow you might ask? The falling leaves of autumn and the stretching shadows that accompany some autumn days, are by their very nature quite melancholic. Yesterday I went for a walk through the village and I noticed a few hints of change. At the front pathway the red vibrant leaves of a neighbour’s plant that had crept through the fence into our garden now lay fallen, its once beautiful leaves dying. As well as this there were burnt edges of leaves still clinging to the trees, but many more had now given up there hold and were scattered by my feet, trampled on by passers by.

I photographed the leaves and the shadows that accompanied them. Here they are:

  WP_20151027_008[1]

 

 

WP_20151027_009[1]

 

WP_20151027_012[1]

 

I’m fading away, my shadow that is, a bit like autumn itself!! Winter will soon be on its way, my least favourite season, the clocks have gone back so that’s a sign, the last hint of sunshine is being gobbled up by the shadow of autumn’s death which is fast on its way!

WP_20151027_011[1]

Hope you liked my photography for this week’s challenge.

Do pop over to my Instagram account to see what I’ve been up to: https://instagram.com/kyrosmagica
Bye for now. Only a few more days to Halloween, so ……

unnamed[1]

Marje @ Kyrosmagica xx

 

 

 

 

 

About Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog, Kyrosmagica. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a debut writer in the process of finishing my first YA fantasy novel, set in Cambridge. I write book reviews on Net Galley and Goodreads. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hugh’s Photo Challenge – Week 3 – What Lurks in The Shadows

  1. kcg1974 says:

    Great photography for this holiday week! Shadows are fascinating,aren’t they? Happy Halloween!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You could be the leaf stalker 🙂 Great shots!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great photos, Marje. I was very tempted to post a photo of the shadows of Toby and myself for this challenge but then I went and took the photo that features on my post. You’ve captured some lovely Autumn moments in these photos and your shadow certainly gives a ghostly presence.

    Thank you so much for participating in the challenge. 🎃

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Hugh, you’re photo is great very mysterious! I struggled with this particular challenge, playing around with various different ideas. I will put some of my other ideas up on my Instagram at some point when I get a moment. Enjoyed taking part. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great photos Marje. I love the way your shadow falls over the leaves, it does give a rather eerie look to it all 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Janice says:

    I love your idea of using a stretchy shadow..they can be spooky. Great collection of photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Happy Halloween!!!!!! | kyrosmagica

Leave a Reply

