7 really useful ‘How To’ articles – Getting the word out on WordPress

Fantastic ‘How to’ WordPress article from Sue Vincent, a must see, so reblogging it.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Untitled

A few weeks ago I had a bit of a blip in the stats. Both visitors and views went up to several times the usual numbers. I was curious, especially as there hadn’t been anything of exceptional note published that day. The normal haiku, a couple of reblogs, and a couple of posts that were relatively lightweight. Nothing that might have been able to explain the hike in the figures.

There were no more ‘likes’ per post than usual… it seemed odd and, though not at all ungrateful for the extra traffic, the blue spike in the graph sort of bugged me. It reminded of that universally recognised digital taunt… the middle finger.

Was it telling me that I should stick to lightweight stuff if I wanted these kind of figures? That fluff is preferred over substance? I know that simple posts, easy on eye and mind get more of…

View original post 780 more words

About Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog, Kyrosmagica. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a debut writer in the process of finishing my first YA fantasy novel, set in Cambridge. I write book reviews on Net Galley and Goodreads. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7 really useful ‘How To’ articles – Getting the word out on WordPress

  1. ramonawray says:

    Interesting, to say the least. Some of the issues we bloggers find ourselves facing can be quite trying.. Though, to be honest, if my views spiked one day I don’t think I’d take the time to figure out why, lol 😀 Guess that’s why they call me lazy… Great share, Marje.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, have to say some odd things do happen with no rhyme or reason so sometimes it is useful to have these articles on hand in case of problems, (especially if like me you’re not very computer savvy.) Glad you found it useful Ramona.

      Like

Leave a Reply

