Why I May Have Ended Up In Your Spam Folder

Unfortunately it looks like I’ve been taken hostage by the spam monster too. I have been replying to your comments – the one’s I’ve seen – good idea to check your spam folders. Thank you to the bloggers who alerted me to this issue. Thanks to Hugh for this post of what to do if the spam monster gets you, reblogging to spread the word.

Hugh's Views & News

I’ve been taken hostage by the WordPress spam monster and, since Wednesday, all the comments I’ve been leaving on other blog posts seem to have gone straight into the spam folder.

Please check your spam folder and let me know if you find me in there. If you do, then please mark the comment as not spam. The spam monster will then release me and I’ll appear in the comments section of the post.

I first heard reports the WordPress spam monster had been taking hostages about a month ago. My understanding is that if it happens to you, you need to report it to WordPress. The problem at the moment is that all the WordPress engineers are at some conference and won’t be back until Monday 26th September. Therefore, whilst I will still be visiting and reading your blog posts,  I won’t be leaving any comments until I know…

View original post 68 more words

About Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog, Kyrosmagica. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a debut writer in the process of finishing my first YA fantasy novel, set in Cambridge. I write book reviews on Net Galley and Goodreads. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Why I May Have Ended Up In Your Spam Folder

  1. Marje, I’m so sorry to hear that this is now happening to your comments.

    Check out my other post which tells you what you need to do if your comments are ending up in the WordPress spam folder.

    https://hughsviewsandnews.com/2016/09/25/what-to-do-if-all-your-comments-are-ending-up-in-the-wordpress-spam-folder/

    I hope it gets sorted out for you quickly. When it happened to me, it took about 2 days (once WordPress were aware of the problem).

    Let me know if you need any further help with this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Hugh. It’s a nuisance isn’t it? The good news is I got your comment ok, so it must not be all comments that are going into my spam folder. I’ve read your second post but still not sure how you contact wordpress help?

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s not so much comments going into the WordPress spam folder of your blog Marje, but your own comments going into other bloggers’ WordPress spam folders. Once somebody un-spams you (as I think I did with one of your earlier comments) your comments no longer go into that blogger’s spam folder. However, any comments you leave on other blogs will continue to go into their spam folders (until they unspam you).

        There is a link to an Akismet form (on my post). This will take you the form you need to complete for WordPress.

        I hope that helps.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Hugh. It’s all a bit confusing! Yes I filled in the form just waiting to hear back from them. Are they quite quick to reply?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I heard back from them within 24 hours and they had the problem sorted out within 48 hours, Marje. However, some other bloggers have informed me that it took longer for them. This problem has been happening all over WordPress for many months so they should know how to solve it. However, you’ll probably get a few replies from them like ‘we’ve no idea why this is happening’ or ‘this is new to us.’ In the meantime, where you do leave comments and they don’t end up showing, contact the blogger and ask them to check their spam folder for your comment and to fish it out if it’s in there. You can then start leaving further comments on their blog that won’t end up in their spam folder.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Hugh that’s all very helpful, hopefully I’ll hear back from them soon. I just left a comment on Colleen’s blog and I’ve already messaged her via gmail about my problem, so hopefully that should be ok. I’ll bear it in mind for future comments. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think, that all of us try to go to spam jail sometimes. Either we like too many posts too fast, attach a link etc.
    Just checked, non of you were in spam jail in my mailbox.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gary says:

    Guess what? You have too! Just checked mine and there you were. Deepest apologies for not checking before. You are now un spammed and I have replied. Thank you by the way for a wondeful compliment 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. By the way, you weren’t in my spam folder. That’s a good thing! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. TanGental says:

    you did but you are out now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

