Colleen’s Weekly #Tanka Challenge

untitled

Today, I thought I’d join in with Colleen’s Weekly #Tanka poetry prompt. I’ve never written a Tanka before.  I have had some experience of writing haiku so hopefully, it shouldn’t be too difficult. After all, it’s just a case of adding two extra lines at the end  of a haiku format, so instead of 5,7,5 we have  5,7,5,7,7….  in the first section you put forward the image in the reader’s mind that you want to convey and the final two lines should express the poet’s ideas about that image.

 

Colleen’s prompt words are:

Bloom and Late

So here goes… Be gentle on me it is my first Tanka!!

in-reverie

Ahem, I’m not quite sure where that last line came from…. LOL!!!

© Marjorie Mallon 2017 – aka, Kyrosmagica. All Rights Reserved.

Do pop over to Colleen’s blog and join in the challenge too…

Colleen Chesebro’s #Tanka challenge

 

Bye for now,

untitled

 

http___signatures-mylivesignature-com_54494_373_07053e7d9657cc81851243011100e58f

About Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog, Kyrosmagica. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a debut writer in the process of finishing my first YA fantasy novel, set in Cambridge. I write book reviews on Net Galley and Goodreads. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Tanka and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Colleen’s Weekly #Tanka Challenge

  1. Way to go, Marje! ❤ I totally loved the last line! 😘❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jazzytower says:

    Way to go! I like it:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. inesephoto says:

    Well done, and I love the message. As to exotic dreams – I think that our miserable weather makes you dream of something exotic 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Al Lane says:

    Keep embracing those dreams!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Denis1950 says:

    You have certainly taken up the challenge Marje, this poem is great. I cannot move out of 3/5./3 haiku any more.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Aquileana says:

    Very nice-…. Diversity is the spice of life, as the saying goes… You are a “diverse” , talented writer, dear Marje…. Sending love. Happy weekend 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Colleen’s Weekly #Tanka #Poetry Challenge #17 – “Storm & Color” – Colleen Chesebro ~ Fairy Whisperer

  8. Reblogged this on REINVENTIONS BY REENA and commented:
    Wonderful lines…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

