My Kyrosmagica Review of The Eternals by Richard M. Ankers

the-eternals-complete

Goodreads Synopsis:

For Jean, eternity should have meant forever.

The Eternals, they are a breed apart. Born to immortality, neither human nor vampire, a dying sun is to end their race where no other could. It is to this ultimatum that Jean, the last Eternal lord, is born. Jean accepts the end once preached by his deceased parents, where others won’t, their arrogance furthering his melancholy. He would fight for the future where they, the Hierarchy, would waltz into nothingness.

But everything changes for Jean when he commits the cardinal sin: his bite takes the life of Princess Chantelle of The New Europa Alliance, whose sister will come to enthrall him. It is a deed Jean thinks has passed unnoticed; it has not. When the Britannian dandy, Sir Walter Merryweather, informs him of this, Jean runs. Aided and abetted by the irksome Merryweather, Jean stumbles from manipulated mishap into age-old conspiracies and beyond.

With the sun’s clock ticking, Jean must find time where there is none to reconcile his sordid past with the promise of new love.

Author Bio:Β 

Richard is a former Company Director who after winning a Gold Medal on HarperCollins’ Authonomy website gave up everything to become the writer he had always wished to be.

Richard counts himself fortunate to have been published both online and in print by such wonderful magazines as Daily Science Fiction and Devoltion Z, as well as anthologies by Third Flatiron Publishing and Leap Books.

The cumulation of his storytelling has arrived in the form of The Eternals. This is the first in a trilogy of books of the same name. The Eternals is set on our Earth in the far distant future as the sun prepares to set one final time. Neither human nor vampire, the Eternal Hierarchy look to waltz their way into oblivion. Jean, a brooding and disillusioned outcast, would have it different.Β  Aided and abetted by the hapless dandy Merryweather, Jean’s tale unfolds to a backdrop of love, death and deceit. With the sun’s clock ticking, Jean must find time where there is none to reconcile his sordid past with the promise of new love.

Genre: Romance, Adventure, Action, Fiction.

My review:

Well IΒ love a good old vampire story, so I was really looking forward to reading this.Β  The Eternals isn’t quite a traditional vampire story.Β This is somethingΒ else. These creatures areΒ ‘neither human nor vampire.’

I enjoyed The Eternals – particularly the descriptive passages, (you really can tell that the author, Richard. A AnkersΒ  is a poet too, ) which for a bit of a poetic soul like myself is absolutely wonderful.

I also really found myself chucklingΒ alongΒ to some of theΒ little touches of humour that liberally peppered the story. But, I did find the instant love, and some of the terms of endearmentΒ (at the beginning of the story,) between Jean, and Linka a little difficult to relate to, particularly if you consider that Jean has just lost his wife, (not much of a grieving period for our hero!)Β and killedΒ Linka’s sister, Chantelle. Though, there is more to this sibling relationship between Linka and ChantelleΒ than meets the eye……Β  Either way, perhaps Eternals aren’t prone to having much of an emotional attachment to their siblings.Β Β The Eternals isΒ exciting in parts. Particularly in the second half of the novel, the pace picks up, and the eloquence of the prose more than made up forΒ some minor irks that I had.

Overall,Β I’mΒ a great fan of beautiful prose, and without a doubt The Eternals is absolutely chocka block full of wonderfully descriptiveΒ writing, and the dialogue flows well too.

So I’d recommend The EternalsΒ for readers who:

Appreciate a more poetic type of writing.

Who’d enjoy going on an adventure with a hero whoΒ isΒ used to women swooning at hisΒ feet, (or even dying for his return,) – perhapsΒ a kind of ruthless, but charming Sean Connery –Β James Bond of Vampires! Sean Connery always was my unchallenged favourite James Bond – Β us ladies do like the charmingly ruggedΒ Scottish bad guys!

I do believe this is the first in a Trilogy so I will be interested to see how this series progresses.

I’m sharing this as part of the Terry Tyler #AugustReviews initiative, and #FridayReadsΒ to try to encourage people to read and write a review. More about that here: Terry Tyler Blog August Reviews

DISCLAIMER: β€œWe are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.” Β 

My opinions are my own and any reviews on this site have not been swayed or altered in any way by monetary compensation, or by the offer of a free book in exchange for a review.Β 

Amazon buying link:

UK Buying Link:Β http://amzn.to/2wf7t7q

My rating:

Overall rating : 4 stars.

Authors Website: Richard Ankers – The Eternals

Have you read The Eternals? Do comment if you have, I’d love to hear your opinion.

 

Bye for now,

 

312de992-fdae-4619-a140-279eec2d8b59

85978B3EEB2A2F45468E6707CEAFE70D

 

 

Published by

Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog: M J Mallon - Kyrosmagica Publishing. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a YA fantasy author, poet and reviewer. My first YA fantasy novel The Curse of Time - Book 1 - Bloodstone is set in Cambridge and Book 2 - Golden Healer is now out too. As well as this, I have contributed to several anthologies, created my own with some amazing international writers, bloggers and creatives during the pandemic: This Is Lockdown and written two poetry collections: Lockdown Innit Poems About Absurdity & Mr. Sagittarius Poetry and Prose. I write book reviews on my blog and on Goodreads, book bub and on my bookstagram. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.

14 thoughts on “My Kyrosmagica Review of The Eternals by Richard M. Ankers”

  1. I know you’re not supposed to respond to reviews of your own book, but I just wanted to say a big thank you. As long as people enjoy it, that’s all that matters to me. You’ve made my week, Marje πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.