Ronovan Writes Haiku Challenge: Prompt Words – Gold and Sing

untitled

For the 1st of December I thought it would be a lovely idea to join in with Ronovan Writes Weekly Haiku Poetry Prompt Challenge.

The prompt words this week are gold and sing : Ronovan Writes Haiku Challenge, Gold and Sing

To understand a little of what the following haiku is about I urge you to read a piece of writing that I enjoyed doing some time ago, when my bubble bath took on a bit of an extraordinary form that grew and grew into a swirling mass of monster imagination….

untitled

Serena’s Bubble Monster

My theme for the following haiku….. is to continue this preposterous fun.

Thereafter, I will be writing a piece of flash fiction about the Bubbly Snowman for Solveig Werner’s Advent Calendar on the 24th of December so keep a look out for that on  Solveig Werner blog.  I’m hoping that the snowman might just melt your heart…

As well as this I am joining in with Ronovan’s suggestion to add photos to this post. This is in conjunction with the 52 day Photo Challenge – Extra – The Aran Artisan Photo Challenge– I’ve been baking my Christmas cake – which I’ll be adding extra sherry to!!! and lots of nuts, fruit, glace cherries,….. yum! The recipe is via  Natalie at There She Goes. Thanks Natalie for the awesome recipe, it looks like it’s turned out well…

The mix …

untitled

The cake… turned out heavenly, in fact I could still smell the wonderful Christmassy aroma well into the evening.

untitled.png

So on to those 1st of December promised haiku Snowman kisses…

Bubbly Snowman Kisses

The Bubble Monster,

Appears in all disguises,

Often he may sing.

 

A hearty Snowman song.

On Snowy Christmas days,

He greets you.

 

Singing golden verse,

He’s always chillingly sweet,

Jewelled admirer. 

 

This Christmas  Cracker,

Bubbly terror of the tub,

So hot, he’s soon gone.

Grab him while you can…

Watch out for his sweet kisses,

They might leave a mark. 

 

Like all cool, chic guys,

He’s bound to rush away fast,

Swirling down the plug.

 

Before he is caught.

By much loved, bearded, guess who?

Prize bubble catcher.

 

Santa’s no nonsense,

He’ll get the reindeer on him,

Send him on his way.

 

***************

 

Trying not to cry,

Teardrops from frosty Lapland,

I sigh, once, twice, thrice.

 

Farewell, Adieu,

Poor Snowman – you melt my heart,

Santa’s cute rival.

 

© Marjorie Mallon 2016 – aka, Kyrosmagica. All Rights Reserved.

 

Ha ha!!! Yes I did say it was going to be preposterous and I wasn’t joking. Well why not? Life is too short to be too serious!

 Hope you enjoyed my silly haiku. I enjoyed writing it.

 Stay tuned…… Kyrosmagica is planning on inviting you all to my Christmas party on this blog on Sunday 18th of December when you can pop by for a bit of virtual ice skating, and to share your news and your lovely links.

Bye for now.

bitmoji1361832851

 

85978B3EEB2A2F45468E6707CEAFE70D

Published by

Marje @ Kyrosmagica

Hi. Welcome to my blog: M J Mallon - Kyrosmagica Publishing. A blog about magic, books, writing, laughter, and much more! I'm a YA fantasy author, poet and reviewer. My first YA fantasy novel The Curse of Time - Book 1 - Bloodstone is set in Cambridge and Book 2 - Golden Healer is now out too. As well as this, I have contributed to several anthologies, created my own with some amazing international writers, bloggers and creatives during the pandemic: This Is Lockdown and written two poetry collections: Lockdown Innit Poems About Absurdity & Mr. Sagittarius Poetry and Prose. I write book reviews on my blog and on Goodreads, book bub and on my bookstagram. I have a penchant for travel and have relatives in far flung places, Australia, Malaysia, and Singapore, (my birthplace.) I grew up in in Bonnie Scotland, in Edinburgh, and now live in Cambridge. I love sunny, hot places, particularly Rome, Venice, Portugal, Barcelona, and I forgot to mention the sun drenched beaches of the Caribbean, how could I? I am lucky to have been blessed with two lovely daughters and a husband who I fondly refer to in this blog as my black sheep. Family joke! With my passion for travel, culture, beautiful beaches, good food, books, theatre, writing, and humour, I hope to keep you entertained. I'm loving every minute of this creative journey, please join me.

10 thoughts on “Ronovan Writes Haiku Challenge: Prompt Words – Gold and Sing”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.